Battle of the Liners: Stila vs. Kat Von D

liner-blog-post

For as long as I can remember, I have been wearing make up.  Okay, what girl has not worn make up once in her life honestly?

I started wearing make up in middle school, nothing too dramatic obviously considering I was only 13 at the time.  If anything, I would usually wear just eyeliner and a gloss or lipstick of some sort.  I found that eyeliner was my go to essential. I’ve tried all types such as: pencil, liquid, and even gel.

My favorite type would have to be liquid eyeliner, especially, the liners in the pen form because for me it felt like I had more control when it came to making a wing. Your wing liner can make or break your make up.  I have to have full control and make sure my wings will help me either “fly away” or “cut somebody” because of how sharp and precise it is, as many beauty gurus would say.

Today, I will be talking about my two favorite liners the Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liner and Kat Von D’s Tattoo Liner.

liner-blog-post-2

Stila Stay All Day Eyeliner was the ultimate ride or die eyeliner I had purchased ever since I was in high school.  Yes, I have been there for Stila ever since their brand’s eyeliner font color was silver before they came out with the gold they have now.  I believe I first heard about it from watching a YouTube beauty guru’s make up tutorial.  I had to have the liner because before Stila, I was using a different eyeliner from a drugstore company.  Although I liked the previous liner, it would always smudge or the tip would start wearing down and become streaky after awhile.  This made the liner harder for me to use.   Stila’s does the total opposite.  Your wing eyeliner stays on all day and does not move at all.  Stila even stays true to their word about being waterproof and the liner would not come off until you applied a make up remover to it.  What I also like about it is that its jet black shade is true to color and it is the blackest black.  Sometimes, you do not get that rich black shade with other brands but with Stila it is the winner.  Honestly, I’ll probably use Stila’s liner until the day I die if it does not become discontinued.  I hope that does not happen anytime soon.

The Kat Von D Tattoo Liner  was a recent find about a couple months ago after I misplaced my Stila liner.  The Sephora I went to sold out of Stila in Jet Black and, as eyeliner is an essential for me, I decided I would try something different.  I always heard influencers and gurus rave about the Tattoo liner in Trooper so I decided to give it a try for myself as this is my first product from Kat Von D’s brand.  I am also willing to try more because I have heard many positive reviews about her products as a whole.  Back on the eyeliner, my first impressions of it was that it had more of a felt tip than the Stila.  That was one part that I liked because it felt like you were actually drawing with a pen on your eyes.  This would be a great product for you if you are a beginner or if wings are not necessarily your strong suit.  It is easy to make a small wing or build up to a dramatic wing, and like the Stila it is waterproof so it does not move or smudge during the day and lasts me during the night.  The black is a true black, but the Stila in my opinion is more intense and bold.  I also love Kat Von D’s packaging, it’s so cute and it’s also what also attracted me to the liner.  So far, it doesn’t wear away or anything which I find Stila’s to do after a long amount of time of owning the liner.  Once my Kat Von D liner runs out I plan on buying another one.

The verdict:  I find myself grabbing for Kat Von D liner more recently.  I’m still trying it out and I find it to be quick, precise, and easy to use.  But if I want my wing to stand out and be bold, I go back to my old friend, the Stila liner.  It just depends on my mood really.

One thought on “Battle of the Liners: Stila vs. Kat Von D

Leave a Reply

